Post image for The People

The People


Dale Harris Dale Harris, Executive Director  Dale Harris is a co-founder of the Great Burn Study Group, taking the lead for the original 21-day field trip to the area in 1971. For 40 years, Dale has maintained focus on the importance of protecting the Great Burn from impacts on its wilderness potential.  Dale has served on the boards of Montana Wilderness Association, the Missoula Open Space Advisory Council, the Mineral County Resource Advisory Committee, and Missoula County Resource Advisory Committee. He co-chaired the USDA Secretary’s Roadless Area Conservation National Advisory Committee from 2006-2008. He currently co-chairs the Montana Forest Restoration Committee and the Clearwater Basin Collaborative and serves as Vice Chair for the Idaho Governor’s Roadless Rule Implementation Commission.  Dale has been widely recognized for his leadership in the conservation movement. He has been invited and elected to leadership roles in a number of collaborative efforts. Dale is a University of Montana graduate of the School of Forestry and Conservation. He has continued his education with graduate study in the business and natural resource fields. 


Beverly Dupree, Policy and Field Studies Director  Beverly Dupree is the Policy and Field Studies Director for the Great Burn Study Group. She has over twenty years of experience working for conservation and environmental education nonprofits in the western U.S. and abroad.She currently serves on the Lolo Restoration Committee and the Missoula County Resource Advisory Committee. In 2008, she received the Montana Wilderness Association’s Brass Lantern Award.  Beverly also works closely with the National Wilderness Stewardship Alliance’s board on various tasks including the website.  Beverly holds a BA in history from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and an MS in environmental studies from the University of Montana.



Seasonal Staff Seasonal Staff
GBSG hires 11-13 seasonal employees for field monitoring and restoration work. In 2010, seasonal staff included: a roving ranger, a field crew working on weed control, a trail maintenance inspector, leaders for U of MT student service trips, and high mountain lake surveyors.

Board of Directors

GBSG has attracted a diverse and talented Board of Directors to guide its progress toward mission accomplishment and accountability.

  • Jennifer Ferenstein, Montana senior representative, The Wilderness Society
  • Kate Geranios, Grants Supervisor, Ecology Project International
  • Larry Jakub, attorney, USDA Office of the General Counsel (retired)
  • Drew Lefebrve, teaching naturalist, Montana Natural History Center
  • Wes Swaffar, director, ecosystems services, National Forest Foundation
  • Pat Sweeney, wildlife biologist, US Forest Service (retired)
  • Sharon Sweeney, Superior District Ranger, US Forest Service (retired)
  • Tom Roy, professor emeritus, University of Montana Environmental Studies Program
  • Zack Porter, NexGen Wilderness Leaders Program Director, Montana Wilderness Association


Comments on this entry are closed.